Data Science Club

University of Rostock

A weekly meeting for anyone who wants to learn about and apply Data Science for real-world problem settings in a casual environment!

Next meeting: Monday, 04.03.2024, 19:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. Bring your laptops! Please sign up here, so I can plan a little.
Pizza: Please bring 3 EUR for Pizza on Monday. It's so awesome that so many people came last time, so we will still get Pizza, but currently, I can't afford that much Pizza every week 😄
No prior knowledge or experience necessary!

Resources

History

WS23/24

  • 2024-02-26: 3 days left for the Kaggle February challenge on obesity risk prediction! Spoiler: The “weight” feature seems to be quite informative.
  • 2024-02-19: Presentation about graph clustering, community detection and visualization.
  • 2024-02-12: Started the next Kaggle Playground Challenge on multi-class obesity detection.
  • 2024-02-05: João Saraiva gave an introduction to processing EEG data in Python.
  • 2024-01-15: Agreed upon also working on group projects in addition to the Kaggle challenges. Would be interesting to hear teams present their progress.
  • 2024-01-08: Ovarian Cancer Competition is closed - started looking for new competitions like this one.
  • 2023-12-11: Looked into Advent of Code Challenges. Also got familiar with pyvips to deal with huge Whole Slide Image PNG files.
  • 2023-11-13: Continued to work on the ML tutorials and the ovarian cancer challenge. Apparently, the host plans to add label map annotations, rendering training approaches more efficient.
  • 2023-11-06: First Meeting in WS23/24! Welcomed the new members and started to work on the Ovarian Cancer Subtype Classification Challenge.

SS23

  • 30th meeting: Monday, 03.07.2023, 19:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. Training first contrail model.
  • 29th meeting: Monday, 26.06.2023, 19:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. Debugging the contrail models.
  • 28th meeting: Monday, 19.06.2023, 19:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. Debugging the contrail models, trying out pytorch.
  • 27th meeting: Monday, 12.06.2023, 19:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. We have decided to try the contrail segmentation challenge. Developing first models and dataloader, trying pytorch for the first time.
  • 26th meeting: Monday, 05.06.2023, 18:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. Choosing a new competition. Our favorites are either sign language classification or contrail segmentation.
  • 25th meeting: Monday, 22.05.2023, 18:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. Making last changes to BirdCLEF competition, slightly improving our score. Next week we will choose a new competition.
  • 24th meeting: Monday, 15.05.2023, 18:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. Fixing issues with previous submission being too slow/having wrong csv format.
  • 23rd meeting: Monday, 08.05.2023, 18:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. First submission to BirdCLEF.
  • 22nd meeting: Monday, 24.04.2023, 18:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. Training models for BirdCLEF.
  • 21st meeting: Monday, 17.04.2023, 18:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. Fixing issues with jupyter lab.
  • 20th meeting: Monday, 03.04.2023, 18:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. Debugging GPU issues, setting up docker images, implementing preprocessing for BirdCLEF.

WS22/23

  • 19th meeting: Monday, 27.03.2023, 18:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. Training first models for BirdCLEF, debugging jupyter lab issues on GPU cluster.
  • 18th meeting: Monday, 20.03.2023, 19:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. Decided on new challenge BirdCLEF.
  • 17th meeting: Monday, 13.03.2023, 19:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. Deciding on a new kaggle challenge.
  • 16th meeting: Monday, 06.03.2023, 19:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. Discussing our results on the RSNA challenge; looking at new challenges.
  • 15th meeting: Monday, 27.02.2023, 19:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. Submitted our first submission on the RSNA Kaggle challenge!
  • 14th meeting: Monday, 20.02.2023, 19:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. Finally training on the cluster, formed a team for the competition.
  • 13th meeting: Monday, 13.02.2023, 19:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. Trying to train first model on the cluster.
  • 12th meeting: Monday, 06.02.2023, 19:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. Preparing first model for kubernetes.
  • 11th meeting: Monday, 30.01.2023, 19:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. We are working with our new cluster access.
  • 10th meeting: Monday, 23.01.2023, 19:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. Working on some fancy models for mamography images.
  • 9th meeting: Monday, 16.01.2023, 19:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. Trying out servers.
  • 8th meeting: Monday, 09.01.2023, 19:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. Lot’s of people today, awesome!
  • 7th meeting: Monday, 02.01.2023, 18:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. Happy new year! We are getting back to coding again.
  • 6th meeting: Monday, 19.12.2022, 19:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 116. Everybody was happily looking at our Kaggle image dataset 😄
  • 5th meeting: Monday, 12.12.2022, 19:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 210. Our Discord is online now and we decided on our first joint Kaggle challenge!
  • 4th meeting: Monday, 05.12.2022, 19:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 210. We are getting a scoreboard! 😄
  • 3rd meeting: Monday, 28.11.2022, 19:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 210. We are starting to compete against each other, which is amazing! 🤩
  • 2nd meeting: Monday, 21.11.2022, 19:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 210. Today pretty much everyone submitted their first challenge! And we found a place to get cheaper Pizza 😁
  • 1st meeting: Monday, 14.11.2022, 19:00 Uhr, Konrad-Zuse-Haus, Room 210. It was a wonderful first meeting with more than 40 people attending!